yama & niyama

‘The Yamas consists of non-injury, truthfulness, non-stealing, continence, and non-acquisitiveness’.

The ‘Yamas’, or abstentions, make up the most basic of all spiritualpractices. They are the injunctions common to every religion. These formsof self-restrain purify the individual and eliminate all of one’s negativeinfluences on others and the environment.
Violence to others, whether in thought, word or deed, must be avoided.Non-injury means more than refraining from inflicting physical pain. Mental pain can be far more devastating, when one is established in complete harmless, even wild animals will approach in peace.The function of truth is to maintain harmony through trust. It is
better to be silent than tell a truth will cause pain or that springs froma wrong motive. A truthful person has power, for what he says comes to pass, and his word becomes law.

Published in: on 29 December 2006 at 2:11 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://taksu.wordpress.com/2006/12/29/yama-niyama/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: