Raja Yoga Selection Number 24, for Tuesday, May 16, 2006

[from Chapter I: “Samadhi Pada- On Contemplations”]
‘”Samprajnata samadhi” (samadhi with consciousness) is accompanied by
reasoning, discrimination, bliss, and an awareness of individuality.’

Those beings called angels or ‘devas’ are entities who, through plane, good actions and meditations, have attained a place, or this is  the ultimate goal, but it is not. there is still duality, a sense of individuality. No mater how pure the ego is, as long as it exists, it
must be transcended for the knower, knowledge and known to become one. ‘samprajnata samadhi’ is not an end in itself but is a state attained along the path. There are four kinds :

A. ‘Savitarka’ : Meditation on elements in time and space.
B. ‘Nirvitarka’: Meditation on elements outside of time and space.
C. ‘Sananda’ : Meditation on mind, accompanied by bliss.
D. ‘Sasmita’ : Identification with the unqualified ego.

When the mind fixes on gross external element or object and meditates on it, it is called ‘savitarka’ meditation. ‘Vitarka’ means question ; ‘savitarka’ , with question. Because it has no reality, all of reason is applied. This mode of meditation scrutinizes the elements and the universe that they may yield up their secrets and powers to the meditator.

Published in: on 29 December 2006 at 1:49 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://taksu.wordpress.com/2006/12/29/raja-yoga-selection-number-24-for-tuesday-may-16-2006/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: