The Inevitability of Karma & Principles Underlying Satsang

Satya Sanatan Dharma
(The True Religion of Humanity)
By Baba Faqir Chand
Copyright © 2006

Chapter 1:
Part 3

Three children of my younger brother Rai Sahib Surinder Nath lived with my family for nine years and I looked after them like my own children. My brother had good income, but he never remitted us any money. My wife remained unhappy because of them (the children) and often quarrelled with me. I was innocent and religious minded. I had no feeling of yours and mine. I knew that my wife should have to suffer for her jealous attitude, ill treatment and quarrelsome nature.

When my house was under construction, my son-in-law came and suggested to me that the building should he constructed in such a way that both sons should get equal share when they divide it (after my death). I told him that he should pray for the life of at least one. Ultimately one of my sons died and my wife suffered for her jealous and quarrelsome nature.

These are the practical experiences of my life, which I speak to you for your benefit. I can claim to be your well-wisher only if I tell you the right way of living a happy life, and if I tell you such things, which can prove helpful to you in your (daily) household
life. That house never flourishes where disputes prevail. These ladies come to the satsang. I am addressing them in particular; they may bow their heads in temples time and again; they may go through all the sacred scriptures; but they will not gain anything if they fail to maintain harmony and happiness in their household life.

I have told you about the end of Arjuna who listened to Gita directly from the mouth of Lord Krishna. I am telling you the root of true Sanatan Dharma. It is not confined to the ringing of the bells in the temples (nor waving of incense in front of deities). It is a practical way of living a happy, healthy and contented life. It is written in the Srîmad Bhâgavatam that Draupadi could not go to heaven and that she went to hell (instead), because she had more affection for Arjuna than her other husbands (she had five husbands according to history). Similarly, about the great warrior Bhima is written that he too went to hell because he was proud of his mace. This shows that the fate of every individual is decided by his inner ego. This world is a field of action and none is free from the fruit of his or her karmas. It is said:

All must reap again and again
The fruits of deeds done

Rama known as the Supreme Lord
Supreme Being and keeper of the law

Drowned at Sarjoo’s unknown bank
So says the Ramayana

This is Sanatan Dharma. How true and great was (the sage) Rishi Ved Vyas. I bow my head at his hallowed feet. He himself wrote the Gita and the Bhâgavatam, and fearlessly wrote the truth. But, who can understand him? You have come for satsang. Try to understand the truth. Do your duty sincerely and abandon selfishness. This life is given to you for a very short period. Do not hanker after name, fame or wealth. Mind your own work and be pure in your intentions. Sant Kabir writes:

Kabir men may beat their drum
But to this town

This house and this lane
They are not to come again

Teachings are only for those who aspire for them. Nowhere is it written (in the Sant Mat traditional books) that you should request or invite people to a satsang. This is purely a matter of necessity, which is felt from within. Once, the Punjab Government invited me to speak at some function. I declined the invitation and wrote, “The thirsty goes to the well, not the well to the thirsty.” I further wrote that those who have a desire to learn, or know something, should come to me. This is what I wrote to the Punjab Government. But the modern mahatmas run after the (ruling) ministers with folded hands. You may consider them as mahatmas, but actually they are worse than the ordinary householders.

Where rang all the seven musical notes
And mansions which echoed songs

Vacant are all those temples
And sit there the crows

This is what Sant Kabir concludes about this earthly life of ours. Actually, this is the end of each individual. Where have the great kings gone along with their mighty forces and vast kingdoms? Where has Pandit Nehru gone?

Where has Data Dayal gone? And where shall you all go? This world is a long dream. So long as you are here, try to be pure in your thoughts, words and deeds. Perform your duties sincerely and develop this conviction that you are not to stay here forever:

You build the lofty palace
And indulge in rivalry

You get a golden bud cast
And abandon it all in a moment

An effigy of five elements (is) given the name `man’
Just for a four-day stay

Reserves establishments time and again
Kabir, a temple worth lakhs studded with rubies and pearls

Is to be seen for only four days
For it will vanish on the morrow

Kabir (says), you shall (all) die
Death is sure
None will utter your name

You shall inhabit the ruins leaving busy habitats
Why have you forgotten death?

O’ you insane one
What a wonder have you done?

Your body shall mingle in dust
As the salt in the flour

Remember the pain of birth and death
(And) stop useless desires

The path that ye are to tread
Beautify that very path

This is the true philosophy of Sanatan Dharma; you should adorn that very path which you are to tread upon. You may follow any path, any yoga; karma yoga, bhakti yoga, gyan (or jnana) yoga. But, be true to your own Self. Sant Kabir writes:

Remember the pain of birth and death
(And) stop useless desires

The path you are to tread
Beautify that very path

I am a Brahmin. I know a little astrology and I believe in the philosophy of karma. I had the horoscopes (birth charts) of many of my relatives and friends prepared. And I have consulted the Bhrigu Samhita (in Hoshiarpur), which shows that we reap the fruits of our previous karmas. There was one Rajput, Raghubir Singh. He had a serious ulcer. The doctors diagnosed it as cancer. He came to me in the Manavta Mandir and died after a few days. Before he died, I sent his horoscope to the Bhrigu Samhita and received a detailed account of his previous life and deeds.

(The Bhrigu Samhita stated that) In his previous birth he was a very rich man. He suffered great losses and then joined as an accountant in the service of another very rich man. That rich man whose service he joined died and this man usurped all his wealth through dubious means. Now, this man was suffering for that bad deed and the
children of that rich man were around him as his close relatives. In addition to this, there were other very important and convincing points described therein. For instance, there was a reference to me. (It was written that) This man would come to me towards the close of life. Some relative of his would look after his family, after his death. Actually, one relative of his who was in the army, left his service and is now looking after his family. This is a true story which indicates that we are all governed by our karmas of the past.

All the Sanatanists who believe in the law of karma should purify their hearts and do good deeds. He who does not believe in this law may not care, but when we believe and do not act accordingly, we are great sinners and we are sure to face difficulties and suffer afflictions. You have come for satsang where truth and knowledge are imparted.

Wisdom is not gained without satsang
And satsang is not possible without His Grace

From satsang you gain the power of discrimination by which you can make your present life joyful and future life happy. A true aspirant listens with rapt attention whereas a mere spectator keeps building castles in his own mind. It is because of this fact that I often say that satsang should be limited only to true seekers.

Satsang is neither a spectacle nor a fair, but these selfish mahatmas and the so-called devotees have made it so. The importance of satsang can never be overemphasized provided there is one who can give satsang and one who aspires for it. But, today there are only a few who understand the value of satsang.

A patient goes to his doctor. He sits there with all regard for the doctor. He obeys the doctor, pays his fee and also for the medicines, because he is deeply interested in recouping his lost health and regaining his old vigour. But here, priceless pearls and
sparkling gems are showered upon you in the satsang. You don’t bother even to give your attention to it. What will you gain? How I wish I could fix the time of satsang to 2 o’clock in the morning so that only real and worthy seekers come at that time.

To read the full version of this installment of the Satya Sanatan Dharma serialization, visit us here:

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Faqir_Chand_Legacy/

Published in: on 27 December 2006 at 1:12 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://taksu.wordpress.com/2006/12/27/satya-sanatan-dharma/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Can you provide me some detail so that I can consult Bhrigu Samhita (in Hoshiarpur),

    Thanks

  2. kindly provide me the details of how and where to consult Brighu Samhita?


Leave a Reply

